When you receive a traffic violation in Virginia your driving record may be subject to demerit points which carry several negative effects for you. Picking up demerits on your license is reason for concern because the ensuing change can result in higher insurance premiums in addition to the immediate cost of the ticket.
Your wallet is not the only reason to be concerned if you receive a traffic ticket. If you receive enough violations in a short period of time you may be forced to take driving classes or have your license suspended.
Every driver in Virginia starts with a clean record of zero points on their record. For every calendar year, January 1 through December 31, where you do not receive a moving violation, you will receive one point of credit up to a maximum score of plus five. When you receive a moving violation demerit points will be assessed against your record ranging from three points for lesser violations, (e.g. speeding 1-9 miles over the limit, improper driving, not wearing your required glasses), four points for the majority of moving violations (e.g., speeding 10–19 miles over the limit, running a red light, making an illegal U-turn) to six points for more serious violations (e.g., reckless driving, speeding 20 mph over the limit or DUI). Demerit points for each violation remain on your DMV driving record for a period of 24 months from the date on which it was assessed.
If you receive 12 demerit points in a 12-month period, or 18 demerit points in 24 months, the DMV will, at a minimum, send you a letter warning. If you are lucky, you may be required to attend a driver improvement clinic to avoid losing your license. If you are unlucky, the DMV may order your license suspended.
If you are facing a traffic ticket, call our office immediately at 540-627-5131 or send us an email. We will give you, at no risk, a free consultation. This information is designed to help you to understand Virginia’s traffic laws, it is provided for educational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal advice.