If you have received a speeding ticket, you are far from the only one. Thousands of Virginians receive tickets for driving faster than the marked speed limit. The fee you must pay can seem arbitrary, but the state actually has a very logical system for determining the amount of your speeding ticket.
Virginia’s fee schedule: what to know
To keep its ticket system standardized and objective, the courts use a formula. This ensures that all drivers receive similar fines for similar speeding infractions. The formula involves:
- Six dollars for every mile you go over the speed limit
- Seven dollars for every mile over the speed limit in a school or work zone
- Two hundred dollars plus eight dollars per mile for every mile over the speed limit in a residential area
Say, for instance, that a police officer clocks a driver going 60 miles per hour in a 50 mile per hour work zone. Ten miles over the speed limit multiplied by seven dollars results in a ticket of $70.
The unforeseen consequences of speeding
Fines are far from the only consequence of reckless driving. In addition to the hefty fines you might have to pay from the ticket, you can also face points added to your license. With enough points, the court could suspend or revoke your driving privileges.
Speeding penalties typically do not result in jail time. However, you could suffer de facto consequences for too many tickets. These could include being turned away from jobs and advanced educational opportunities. Insurance companies also tend to raise their premiums for drivers who have multiple tickets. Though paying a fee for speeding might not sound very severe, you should take it seriously, drive safely and fight potential tickets.